| | |||
![]() | |||
| |||
| |||||||
| ESL for Teachers | Teacher Training | |
| ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Junior Member ![]() Join Date: Oct 2008 Occupation: HR Location: ![]()
Posts: 8
![]() | Beware of esltiger.com – esltiger.com are spammers! As the HR for a language school, I foolishly joined ESLtiger.com to post a job ad. Since that, I have received over a dozen spam emails from ESLtiger.com in Chinese saying “Teacher List” and that is in only 2 days!!! All emails are sent through Tom.com (they use at least 10 different accounts) but reference “ESLtiger.com” as the sender name. THINK TWICE BEFORE JOINING THAT SITE! They will just use your email to send unsolicited spam. In addition, they seem to be some sort of Chinese educational organization that is probably using the site for data mining (https://www.networksolutions.com/whois/results.jsp?domain=esltiger.com). The following are the emails they use to send spam: ESLTiger.com [yuanjoan06@sina.com] ESLTiger.com [joanqiong35@tom.com] ESLTiger.com [joanwill52@tom.com] ESLTiger.com [jiangjoan05@sina.com] ESLTiger.com [tomjohn32@tom.com] ESLTiger.com [tomjoan02@tom.com] ESLTiger.com [krainlee23@tom.com] ESLTiger.com [joanwill52@tom.com] ESLTiger.com [lisahe325@tom.com] |
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Junior Member ![]() Join Date: Oct 2008 Occupation: HR Location: ![]()
Posts: 8
![]() | Another on my Beware list - SeriousTeachers.com are also spammers Another on my "watch out for list" is SeriousTeachers.com. When I posted an ad on their site, I was also receiving emails about ALL the teachers interested in my job. Funny thing though...when I contacted the teachers, they had no idea what I wanted nor who I was. In addition, SeriousTeachers.com only provides a free service which then switches to a paid service. I think they bait schools with their resume database and then charge money. Regardless, the teachers who "express their interest" are just the victims of an automated spamming system. Some sites that I have found to be good for posting ESL/EFL resumes and jobs, not trying to scam and getting relevant responses are (obviously aside from this site which I already use!): www.totalesl.com Really Good site! I like this one because it is reliable for a small site (been online for 5 years) and has great search features to find the really relevant teacher or job..and it is free...always a plus for me :-D www.tesall.com Great site! Also free and chances of getting syndicated through esljobfeed.com (part of TESall.com) are cool because it goes across 29 other sites. Just need to get on that list! :-) www.eslteachersboard.com Good...also free and easy to post but my ads don't really stand out. Search features are limited also but still a good site. www.eslcafe.com Still the #1 big daddy of ESL with a guaranteed response but my budget is tight...I use him for the hard to find physics teacher or when I have some extra HR money :-P Just my two cents....again. :-) |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Guru ![]() | Re: Beware of esltiger.com – esltiger.com are spammers! What serious teachers does is send you all teachers whose 'interested to teach in & travel to' match your advert. I still think serious teachers is useful you just have to sift through the candidates and be very clear about how you go their phone number/ contact details. Thanks for the other websites |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Junior Member ![]() Join Date: Oct 2008 Occupation: HR Location: ![]()
Posts: 8
![]() | Re: Beware of Serious Teachers.com – Using Teachers Resumes for commercial gain I have to disagree because when I posted the job ad, I received 74 emails from Teachers@SeriousTeachers.com within 3 hours (you can see a sample below). The email says the teacher is "requesting to be considered as a potential candiate" and is even signed with their name. There are comments from the teacher, etc. so you would assume...WOW...look at all these teachers that want my job! Unforunately, there is no way for me to verify or even confirm this unless I pay the 75 Euro ($102) to activate my ad. Every single link in their email or pages is to a payment gateway. In addition, When I "CLICK HERE" to examine all the teachers who have "Directly applied to my ad" (see email), the only "Teacher Comments" posted over and over again (supposedly from the teacher) are "Please activate your ad!". This is misleading and manipulative. If I understand correctly, I am asked to pay $102 to view all the teachers that are interested in my ad only to find out they don't understand who I am but have only expressed an interest in working in the same country as my school...so I have to reinitiate the whole process with them to explain who I am....provided I pay that $102. I wonder if teachers realize that their personal information and resumes are being used to lure schools to pay money regardless of whether that teacher is actually interested in the position. Don't get me wrong, I pay money to Dave's ESL all the time for placing an ad but at least I know that the teachers responding are actually interested rather than being used in order to convince me to pay a fee. EMAIL: Dear XXX, Kristen XXX a native of United States of America currently residing in Thailand, is requesting to be considered as a potential candidate for your posted position. Available: IMMEDIATELY ![]() ► CLICK HERE to examine the panel with all teachers who have DIRECTLY applied to your ad! ► CLICK HERE to find & contact matching candidates to your offer from our database! You are currently under a TRIAL STATUS, click here to activate to a FULL POSTING! [Picture Here] View my uploaded resume Introduction I am a native of United States of America and presently located in United States. I am interested and serious about finding a position teaching English as a foreign language in my selected countries. Anxiously awaiting your response! Please click to view my quick Profile! Best regards, Kristen XXX Please Email me here! |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Guru ![]() | I have paid up the full amount and can view all of the teachers emails and phone numbers if they up them up. I think you have the trial version in which you can send them emails via serious teachers but can't view anything else. I am definitely going to keep using it, I have recruited 30 teachers from there this year. |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Junior Member ![]() Join Date: Oct 2008 Occupation: HR Location: ![]()
Posts: 8
![]() | Re: Beware of esltiger.com – esltiger.com are spammers! No, the "Trial Version" allows no contact or information unless you pay the $102. Regardless, the email their system sends "on behalf of the teacher" states the teacher has expressed their interest and uses the teacher’s name. Regarding paying the exorbitant fee just to get the teachers' contact information. I am not comfortable paying a fee just for the privilege of spamming teachers my job ad just to see if anyone is interested. I prefer to wait until a teacher genuinely expresses an interest. But then again...I am not a recruiter...just the HR for a language company that employees 70+ teachers teaching in public and private school...so I don't need to resort to what I feel are unsolicited, high pressure sales tactics. That is not a judgment or condemnation of recruiters…just IMO…the differences between providing teachers for just our organization versus having to provide a large body of recruits for numerous schools means different approaches to meet market demand. Again, I find it disreputable that a site uses teacher profiles and resumes to lure/mislead schools into sending money. Anyway...we have beat this dead horse long enough :-D |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| Guru ![]() | Re: Beware of esltiger.com – esltiger.com are spammers! Hmmm actually you are right I just joined as a teacher under the name Dude McSweet and it didn't make you agree with a privacy policy, it did show it too you if you wanted to view it where it said 'SeriousTeachers has been designed to maintain all your personal data and contact information submitted during your registration 100% intact and makes them only available to the intended matching employers to your profile and no one else. That's why, unlike many other websites, your email addresses, telephone numbers, References and all other private data do not appear in on our open pages unless logged in by the corresponding and related employers interested in you only for the purpose of employment. The above statement also applies to all employers who have posted their job offers with us.' I am actually a bit wary of the teachers who join seriousteachers some of them are real wackjobs I always check their references thoroughly. Cheers S |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| Senior Member ![]() | Re: Beware of esltiger.com – esltiger.com are spammers! Hi Sam, I'm glad you said that some teachers who joined Serious teachers are "whackjobs". I'm pleased to announce that, although I'm a member of that site, I'm definitely a whackjob, hehehe! I think the site has it's uses and if used solely for the purposes of getting a job, it's actually quite good in my experience.
__________________ Think only of those things that can be done! |
| | |