Teaching Jobs & English Abroad ESL Hang Out for all things ESL.

Go Back   ESL Teaching - Jobs, lesson plans > General > Teacher Lounge

ESL for Teachers Teacher Training
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Tue 14-Oct-08, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Occupation: HR
Location:
Posts: 8
ESLschool is on a distinguished road
Beware of SeriousTeachers.com – Spamming Teacher Resumes for commercial gain

Another on my "watch out for list" is SeriousTeachers.com.

When I posted the job ad, I received 74 emails from Teachers@SeriousTeachers.com within 3 hours (you can see a sample below).
The email says the teacher is "requesting to be considered as a potential candiate" and is even signed with their name. There are comments from the teacher, etc. so you would assume...WOW...look at all these teachers that want my job!
Unforunately, there is no way for me to verify or even confirm this unless I pay the 75 Euro ($102) to activate my ad. Every single link in their email or pages is to a payment gateway.
In addition, When I "CLICK HERE" to examine all the teachers who have "Directly applied to my ad" (see email), the only "Teacher Comments" posted over and over again (supposedly from the teacher) are "Please activate your ad!". This is misleading and manipulative.

If I understand correctly, I am asked to pay $102 to view all the teachers that are interested in my ad only to find out they don't understand who I am but have only expressed an interest in working in the same country as my school...so I have to reinitiate the whole process with them to explain who I am....provided I pay that $102.

I wonder if teachers realize that their personal information and resumes are being used to lure schools to pay money regardless of whether that teacher is actually interested in the position.

Don't get me wrong, I pay money to Dave's ESL all the time for placing an ad but at least I know that the teachers responding are actually interested rather than being used in order to convince me to pay a fee.

EMAIL:

Dear XXX,
Kristen XXX a native of United States of America currently residing in Thailand,
is requesting to be considered as a potential candidate for your posted position.
Available: IMMEDIATELY
CLICK HERE to examine the panel with all teachers who have DIRECTLY applied to your ad!

CLICK HERE to find & contact matching candidates to your offer from our database!


You are currently under a TRIAL STATUS, click here to activate to a FULL POSTING!
[Picture Here]
View my uploaded resume
Introduction
I am a native of United States of America and presently located in United States. I am interested and serious about finding a position teaching English as a foreign language in my selected countries. Anxiously awaiting your response!
Please click to view my quick Profile!

Best regards,
Kristen XXX
Please Email me here!
ESLschool is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old Thu 16-Oct-08, 08:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Occupation: HR
Location:
Posts: 8
ESLschool is on a distinguished road
Re: Beware of SeriousTeachers.com – Spamming Teacher Resumes for commercial gain

See more information in the ESL Black List forum which includes feedback from another school regarding SeriousTeachers.com:

Beware of esltiger.com – esltiger.com are spammers!
ESLschool is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old Thu 16-Oct-08, 10:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
exported_kiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Nationality: Kiwi who's been exported!
Occupation: Beer taster, hehehehehe!
Location:
Posts: 241
exported_kiwi will become famous soon enoughexported_kiwi will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to exported_kiwi Send a message via Yahoo to exported_kiwi
Re: Beware of SeriousTeachers.com – Spamming Teacher Resumes for commercial gain

I get emails from serious teachers all the time and actually got my current job through them. I have no problems getting a lot of job "leads" through them and will view them all but won't answer until it's time to search for a new job.
__________________
Think only of those things that can be done!
exported_kiwi is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old Wed 04-Mar-09, 11:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Occupation: English teacher
Location:
Posts: 5
MrGreen is on a distinguished road
Re: Beware of SeriousTeachers.com – Spamming Teacher Resumes for commercial gain

I'm not sure about this site at all... they seem pretty dodgy. And i'm not sure that the teachers on the website are of a very high quality - this is from a recruiters perspective. I'd take caution...
MrGreen is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +9. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Copyright © 2008, AAC
Jobs and TESL/TEFL Teach English China Teach English Japan Teach English Korea Teach English Taiwan Jobs in China Jobs in Korea
Jobs in Taiwan Jobs in Japan Jobs Worldwide TESL,TEFL Courses Online TEFL Certification Farm Stay Educational Ringtones

SEO by vBSEO

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26